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(1-866-393-6432)
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Office of Injured Employee Counsel Central Office
7551 Metro Center Drive, Suite 100, MS-50

Austin, TX 78744-1609

Local field offices exist throughout 
the State of Texas and are staffed to assist you.

The statutory authority for the 
Office of Injured Employee Counsel 

is found in the Texas Labor Code, Chapter 404.
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Maximum Medical  
Improvement and  

Impairment Rating

What You Need to Know 
as an Injured Employee

Texas Labor Code § 408.123 
Rules 130.1 - 130.4, 130.12

Office of Injured Employee Counsel:   
We’re Here to Help

Has a doctor told you 
that you have reached 

maximum medical 
improvement but 

you aren’t sure what 
that means?  

Reaching maximum 
medical improvement 

and being assigned 
an impairment rating 
are part of the natural 

progression of a 
workers’ compensation 

claim. 



MAXIMUM MEDICAL IMPROVEMENT  

Recovery from a work-related injury is different 
for each person and depends on many factors, 
including the type and severity of the injury.  At 
some point, you will have recovered as much as 
possible.  On the date when a doctor believes you 
have reached that point and there will be no further 
substantial recovery from or lasting improvement 
to your injury, he or she will find you have reached 
maximum medical improvement.

Reaching maximum medical improvement does 
not necessarily mean you will be able to return to 
regular duty work, have no pain, or no longer need 
medical treatment. 

The maximum medical improvement date may 
be given by your treating doctor, a referral doctor, 
a designated doctor, or a required medical 
examination doctor.  The doctor will complete a 
Form DWC069, Report of Medical Evaluation, with 
your maximum medical improvement date. 

If an injured employee has not previously reached 
maximum medical improvement, then by law the 
injured employee automatically reaches maximum 
medical improvement at 104 weeks from the date 
benefits begin to accrue.  This is known as statutory 
maximum medical improvement.

IMPAIRMENT RATING
Sometimes an injured employee does not recover 
fully from the injury and has permanent damage.  
A doctor who determines that you have reached 
maximum medical improvement will also assign 
an impairment rating.  Your impairment rating 
indicates the extent of permanent damage to your 
body as a result of your injury. 

The doctor will examine you and use the American 
Medical Association Guides to the Evaluation of 
Permanent Impairment to assign the impairment 
rating.

EFFECT ON BENEFITS
You may be eligible for impairment income benefits 
if you have an impairment rating of one percent 
or greater.  Impairment income benefits are paid 
to injured employees to compensate them for the 
damage to their body due to a work-related injury.

Temporary income benefits end on the date of 
maximum medical improvement, and impairment 
income benefits, if any, start the day after maximum 
medical improvement.  

An injured employee receives three weeks of 
impairment income benefits for each percentage 
point of impairment.  (For example, a 5 percent 
impairment rating:  3 weeks x 5 percent = 15 weeks 
of impairment income benefits.)

The amount of weekly impairment income benefits 
are calculated at 70 percent x average weekly wage.  
(For example, $500 average weekly wage x 70 
percent = $350 impairment income benefits rate.) 

There are maximum and minimum impairment 
income benefit rates depending on your date 
of injury.  The “Maximum and Minimum Weekly 
Benefits” table is on the Texas Department of 
Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation 
website:  
www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/employee/maxminbens.html.

WHAT IF I DON’T AGREE WITH THE 
MAXIMUM MEDICAL IMPROVEMENT 
DATE OR IMPAIRMENT RATING? 
If you disagree with a doctor’s maximum medical 
improvement date and/or the impairment rating 
assigned to you, you can dispute.  This dispute 
must be filed with the Texas Department of 
Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation.  If 
you disagree with the date and/or rating you have 
been assigned, please contact OIEC as soon as you 
receive the Form DWC069 to help determine what 
type of dispute you must file.

There may be time limits for the dispute.  The first 
impairment rating assigned becomes final within 
90 days unless it is disputed.   

It is possible to have maximum medical 
improvement dates and impairment ratings from 
different doctors.  OIEC can help you understand 
the process and its impact on you.CONTACT US

Office of Injured Employee Counsel Customer Service Representatives  
or your assigned Ombudsman can answer your questions about  

maximum medical improvement and impairment ratings.   
Please call 1-866-EZE-OIEC (1-866-393-6432) for their assistance.


